The 5th Council for Social Service Professions is constituted as follows:

Six social workers elected by social workers (section 5(1)(a)):

  • Dr Rembuluwani Paul Mbedzi (10-21021)
  • Ms Jocomina Malebo Mokone (10-09865)
  • Mr Murendeni Muridili (10-28804)
  • Mr Bishop Dishupeng Thibela (10-21288)
  • Ms Nicolette Marguerite Van der Walt (10-05929)
  • Mr Andries Viviers (10-12729)

Three child and youth care workers elected by child and youth care workers (section 5(1)(b)):

  • Dr Janet Merle Allsopp (70-00013)
  • Mr Alfred Anthony Harris (70-00101)

Thirteen persons appointed by the Minister (section 5(1)(c)):
Two persons nominated by training institutions (section 5(1)(c)(i):

  • Prof Kgashane Johannes Malesa (10-30065)
  • Dr Zurina Abdulla (10-19331)

One person in the employed of the National Department of Social Development (section 5(1)(c)(ii)):

  • Ms Civil Legodu (10-12946)

Two persons nominated by national forums and networks in the welfare, social services and development field (section 5(1)(c)(iii)):

  • Prof Ntombifikile Margarete Mazibuko (10-08417)
  • Mr Francisco Gerard Cornelius (90-00299)

One person nominated by trade unions that represent employees engaged in developmental social welfare services (section 5(1)(c)(vi)):

  • Mr Sdumo Masilela (10-26169)

One person nominated by business:

  • Ms Thembisa Jimana

One person nominated by the Minister of Higher Education and Training (section 5(1)(c)(vi)):

  • Pending

Four persons nominated by the community (section 5(1)(c)(vii)):
Person specialised knowledge in a field other than social work / child and youth care work (section 5(1)(c)(vii)(aa)):

  • Ms Lesley Sharon Du Toit (90-11283)
  • Mr Leonardo Jeremiah Goosen
  • Dr Seithathi Maria Motebang

Person with a disability (section 5(1)(c)(vii)(bb)):

  • Ms Caroline Tshepe Mokhele (10-22070)

One person nominated by the heads of the departments responsible for welfare matters in the provincial sphere of government (section 5(1)(c)(viii)):

  • Mr Linda Leonard Maphalala (10-13218)


  • President of the SACSSP: Dr Rembuluwani Paul Mbedzi
  • Vice-President of the SACSSP: Mr Murendeni Muridili


37 Annie Botha Ave Riviera
Pretoria 0084

Call Us

(+27) 012 356 8300